Steve Prefontaine

International Track Star - Running Legend

Endowed Scholarship at Marshfield High School


The Prefontaine Memorial Run Committee annually awards $1,000 scholarships to Coos County students who have shown dedication to cross country/track & field. We also assist Coos County schools in maintaining their cross country/track & field programs through monetary contributions and supporting the Prefontaine Track Club. The Committee believes that our activities honor the memory and spirit of Pre, who believed in giving back to athletes.

In addition, we have established a permanent, endowed scholarship at Marshfield High School in Pre's name. The endowment has reached a corpus of nearly $20,000, but in this low interest environment the interest accumulation each year is still short of the $1,000 scholarship award. The committee will continue to add to the corpus and with the help of those of you who treasure Pre's memory, we will continue to build the Steve Prefontaine Memorial Scholarship that will award scholarships to deserving Marshfield student-athletes in perpetuity. If you would like to contribute to this endowment, please send your tax deductible contribution to the address listed below.

Marshfield High School Scholarship Fund
Attention: Candace McGowne
P.O. Box 1541
Coos Bay, Oregon 97420

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Please write Steve Prefontaine Scholarship on your check.

2016 Sawyer Heckard
Western Oregon University


2015 Adryana Chavez
South Western Community College


2014 Shaylen Crook
University of Utah


2013 Connor Devereux
Oregon Institute of Technology


2011 Blake Kemp
University of Oregon


2012 Sergio Marroquin
Lane Community College


2010 Tori Scott
Colorado State University


2009 Caleb Kruse, 
Lane CC/University of Oregon